Involve yourself!

I want to start this post with an apology.  My intentions had originally been to post at least twice a week.  Now I am lucky if I post twice a month.  Maybe this is a good thing for all of you, only having to read the minimum of my rambles.  But I do hate not living up to my plans.

Anyway.

I have just entered the last week of my taught university life.  After this week I will have no more lessons.  Just 5 exams and my dissertation deadline.  It is a scary and sobering thought.  Last week, I trained up my replacement on the student newspaper and I handed over to the new committee for the Tap club.  And I am not going to lie.  It was sad.  Especially for Tap.

When I started this blog I wanted to show that people can be domesticated and yet still ‘feminist’.  I say people, because I don’t want to gender stereotype.  Men can be feminists too!  So far, I’ve blogged about knitting, sewing, baking; all very stereotypically girly things.  I can’t say I’m going to stop and suddenly talk about the football (anyone who knows me knows that will never happen in a month of blue mooned Sundays).  But I am going to talk about getting ahead in a career sense.  The topic this time is getting involved.

Coming to university isn’t just about learning (or drinking for that matter).  The whole experience of moving away from home, getting out from under the parental gaze and taking the reins for everything in your life is just as important.  And alongside that, you are presented with opportunities to expand your horizons, and get involved with clubs and societies.

In my time at university I have been a section editor for the newspaper, and the Deputy Editor of the entire publication.  I have also been the President of the Tap and Modern Dance club.  Both of these positions have taught me.  A lot.  What I enjoy, what I detest, what I prioritise, what I’m good at, what I need to improve, what I like in people…it has been a huge learning curve.

And on top of that, I now have to squeeze my CV onto one page.  Actually SQUEEZE.  With my hands.  Ok not with my hands, with my words but you get the picture.  I know have practical, applicable skills that I can brag about like nobodies business.

You can spend your time at university studying, or partying.  That’s cool.  But if you get involved with what’s going on around you, you will get so much more out of it, and give something back too.  I know that sounds like a cheesy cliche, but it’s true.

With the end of my degree, it has been saying goodbye to the Tap and Modern club that has made me cry.  Not my education.  After three years of planning, organising, liaising, coralling, dancing (duh) and general looking after-ing I have put so much in and got so much out that I don’t want it to end.

So anyone who is reading this who hasn’t gone to university yet, or even hasn’t finished, get involved.  I have loved it and I will miss it dearly :’-(

Leave a Reply

