Paste it daddy!

Oh hey! Somehow it’s been over a month since I last posted. Again! How has that happened? Life has a strange way of getting on top of you doesn’t it? A whole heck of a lot of birthdays, commissioned knitting and other stuff that wasn’t so fun has got the better of me in the last few weeks. But I am here to say no more! I’ve got some pretty knitty things to show you…

Before I get stuck in, I hope it is apparent that my title is a quote from It’s A Wonderful Life, otherwise it sounds a bit odd. And I chose this title because, drumroll please, I have finished my Zuzu’s Petals! In my mind there’s a fanfare going right now. I know, it’s overkill, but it makes me happy.

Since the weather has picked up I’ve even been able to take some half-decent photog. So, the grand reveal, here it is!

WP_20140318_007

 

(Photo by me, isn’t she pretty? Look at all the colours!)

WP_20140318_009

(Photo by me. Ignore the wonky spine – I forgot to yarn over one row…had to fix it…bodged it, of course.)

I’m really pleased with how this has turned out. I think I mentioned that I’d needed to add a few stitches to the cast on, because I was making it with such fine yarn. Well when I got to the lace section, I needed to add another 6 (oops) but you can’t even see that I had a little fumble on that row, and I did it on the bit that’s always at the back, so no harm, no foul!

The lace section threw me a bit, because there are no close-up shots of it in the pattern. The way the shawl hangs it kind of masks it, and you can only see the very edge, which is different! I had faith though, and I’d glad I did because it’s so pretty. Look!

WP_20140318_008

(Photo by me. I love the way it really does look like fallen petals, so clever, so aptly named.)

I even have a huge chunk of yarn left over – it might actually be half the skein (before you ask, I haven’t weighed It yet, that would be far too sensible). So I could make another one exactly the same…or not. What do you think? My shawl obsession doesn’t seem to be going anywhere…but does a girl need two shawls in the same yarn? Ah the big existential questions that I tackle on this blog.

WP_20140318_016

(Photo by me. Dodgy selfie, no make-up, cos that’s how I roll.)

The length is perfect in terms of coverage and tucking into coats and things, plus I think the drape at the neck is really pretty.

WP_20140318_010

(Photo by me. Let’s just ignore the hint of double chin there. And yes, those are typewriters on my dress, be jealous.)

And because it’s the law, here’s a shawl on a wall shot. Some of you may recognise this wall. It has played host to my mum’s shawl too. I do really like this wall. It’s pretty and in a quiet part of Bath where the number of judgemental eyes is kept to a minimum. Apologies for the litter, didn’t see that until I uploaded the photo (such shoddy photography skills!)

WP_20140318_027

(Photo by me. This shows the shape and construction of the shawl a bit better. Hint – the long side on the left is the front.)

Before I go, I have a little teaser for you. I don’t mess around you see. I’ve got another finished object to show you (yes, you know the one) and I’ve already made a start on the next project. Here is a swatch…anyone who can guess what it is and what it’s going to become gets a prize!

WP_20140318_003

Until next time lovely peeps!

Leave a Reply

