A bit of silk for summer

Good morning beautiful people! I don’t know about you, but I am so relieved it’s the weekend. Thank god for lie-ins, am I right?

So now that my pink cardi is all done and in the general rotation, and my socks are chugging a long nicely in my lunch breaks (onto sock number two woo!) it’s time to show you new things around here.

Ages ago, and I mean months ago, I found the Purl Bee’s Silken Straw Summer Sweater. It was one of the first things I ever pinned, and I instantly fell in love with it. Bizarrely, I was hit by a very uncharacteristic bout of patience and consideration and have left it in the back of my mind all this time. I wasn’t about to splash out on the Silken Straw yarn ($30+ per skein, and I’d need 5 skeins!) but I did get my hands on some discontinued Debbie Bliss Pure Silk (link to it’s replacement). 8 skeins in complementary colours. How often does that happen? I’ve got about 150 meters more than I need which is perfect, because I had to do a bit of adaptation (eek!)

purl

(Photo from the Purl Bee. I may have to recreate this with my finished object. Shame my room isn’t pure white…)

The pattern is very simple, and that’s one of the things that drew me to it in the first place. It’s all about the yarn and the clean lines. But it only comes in two sizes and that was a bit of a sticky spot for me. All of the dimensions in the large size were perfect, except for the bust. I needed another 10cm (4in) to fit the girls in. Handily, that’s my tension measurement (thank god I did a swatch!) so I knew exactly how many more stitches I needed, but I wasn’t sure how to get them in. The great knitting guru Faye helped me with some maths and now I’m good to go when I get to that bit. Did you read that? “When I get to that bit.” I actually read ahead and planned ahead in a pattern! This is huge growth for me!

WP_20140403_012

(Photo by me. Stripy stripy…the pink bit is so curly!)

Anyway, I’ve just started the waist shaping and I’m loving it. It’s knitted in the round from the bottom up, just acres and acres of stocking stitch (perfect to go with my new TV addiction – Modern Family). I had 5 skeins of mint (yes, that’s what that swatch was!) 1 of purple, 1 of blue and 1 of pink. I decided to do a 5cm stripe of each at the bottom, then if I can work out how, I’ll mirror it on the sleeves too. Hopefully it will all tie in and look beautiful. It’s going really well so far, the mint is definitely my favourite – good thing that’s the one I have most of! I think it’s going to be a really valuable addition to my summer wardrobe, and hopefully, the timing will be perfect.

WP_20140403_013

(Photo by me. It’s growing so fast.)

I’ll keep you posted, as ever, and soon I shall be showing you sock progress too…thrilling, I know.

Leave a Reply

