FO Round Up!

Well hi there, readerinos!

How are you guys doing? It’s been manic around these parts recently. Birthdays, friends visiting and crazy work deadlines have taken up all of my energy. Hence the radio silence from me in Blogland. Many apologies for that my lovelies. I’d like to say I’m going to be back on it…but…I’m going on holiday on Friday so boo-yah! Sun, sea and sand here I come and my god do I need it.

Anyway, just to keep you topped up with my special brand of entertainment, I thought I’d fill you in on a few of my FOs before I saunter off into the sunset.

Remember those gifts I was knitting? The crafty things I couldn’t tell you about? They’re done! All done, dusted and happily living with their recipients. So here’s what I was stitching…

First off, Steven got some more woollen wonders.

WP_20140802_006

(Snuggly mitts. Photo by me.)

These are the Purl Bee’s cuffed hand warmers. When we visited Purl Soho last May, I bought the yarn to make myself a pair and Steven chose these colours for his own set. They’re actually a charcoal and pale grey combo but the photo makes them look quite purple. I think it’s the background I used. Anyway, he might have to do a bit of mending already because I’m such a bad sewer and the top, paler part seems to be coming away already. Oops…

WP_20140802_011

(Cosy cowl. Photo by me.)

This is a slightly shorter version of the GAP-tastic cowl by Jan Geigley. I hunted high and low for the right yarn to make this cowl. I knew that Steven found wool itchy, so that was out. I also knew that I needed something chunky in a grey that would co-ordinate well with the mitts and that part proved to be damn tricky. In the end KnitPicks Swish saved my bacon. 100% superwash Merino wool with the squashiest ply I’ve ever experienced. I found just two skeins in the perfect colour at Great British Yarns and snapped them up. There wasn’t enough to make the original epic-sized cowl, but it’s long enough to wrap around Steven’s neck twice and is snuggly cosy so I’m happy!

He requested both of these (such a well trained boy) and I was more than happy to oblige. He may have asked for the mitts over a year ago when we were on our honeymoon but, hey, at least he got them at some point. Plus, the cowl was a much more recent request so I’m sure I get some points for that. It’s also a huge improvement from last year when the socks that were meant for his birthday became Christmas presents. More than four months later. Yeah.

I also finished this colourful wonder…

WP_20140729_005

(So stripy! Photo by me)

My sister-in-law Charlotte (hi Charlotte!) mentioned in passing that she would like a poncho for our family holiday to Spain (this Friday. Did I mention that?) Last week was her 21st birthday and so I jumped at the opportunity to give her something homemade for her coming-of-age. I’ve never knitted a poncho before but I thought if she was going to wear a poncho it would have to be a full-on poncho. Hence the textured garter stitch ribs, eyelet pattern and loud colour scheme. It’s based on the Summer Poncho by Karen Stelzer, although I tweaked it a little bit to suit my yarn needs and also worked the first few rows flat to create a kind of collar.

WP_20140729_001

(In all its poncho-y glory. Photo by me.)

The best part? I’m pretty sure she liked it…

Twitter47c8471_jpg

(Happy Birthday Char-lotte! Photo by Matt McCauley)

So that’s what’s been flying off my needles in the last month or so. I’ve also been chipping away at something for work that STILL isn’t done (which is entirely my fault) that I will show you pictures of when the issue is on sale. I will be overjoyed when that little time-suck is finished.

Since finishing all these gifts I’ve cast on a cardigan for me (oooh, I know, right?) and I’m thinking about a shawl project to take with me on my holibobs…just in case I feel the need to knit. You know when the sun gets too much for me and I’ve had enough sangria. Thinking about it, maybe I don’t need a holiday knitting project… Do you guys take knitting away with you?

Anyway, catch you on the flip side chaps!

(P.S. I think it’s quite impressive that I only mentioned my holiday four times. You may disagree :-P)

Leave a Reply

