Workin’ 9 to 5…sorta

As you may have guessed from my previous post, things are all shaken up round these parts. It’s all good shaking (think Taylor Swift rather than hypothermia) but it’s still been pretty dramatic. Particularly, the way I work has changed a lot. I’m currently working from home, rather than in the office in Bristol, and it’s pretty mind boggling how different things feel. Here’s my roundup of pros and cons to working at home. Because I’m sure you’re all dying to know…

First things first.

The elephant in the room.

The big issue that I know you are all very concerned with.

PRO:

Working in your PJs.

Yes, I have and yes, I will again. No, it’s not slovenly and yes, it’s as amazing as you imagine.

Moving on…

PRO: Lunchtimes

Ok, so I might not be in the centre of Bristol anymore, and I might not be able to pop out on my lunch break to buy a pair of jeans and be back in the office within twenty minutes. But let’s face it, I never did that when the option was there, so I’m not really missing out. And, really, who can buy jeans that quickly?

The counterpoint, and the massive win, is that I don’t have to take a packed a lunch or spend a small fortune on sustenance anymore. Do you know what I had for lunch on Friday? Goat’s cheese on corn thins topped with oven roasted peppers and tomatoes, piping hot and juicy from the oven. That’s bordering on gourmet, guys, and it’s the norm now. Things are stepping up!

CON: Company

I’m lucky, and my family and friends are nearby for human interaction on my lunch breaks. Let me tell you, if they weren’t around, I would go officially crazy spending this much time alone. It’s so wrong. Within a week I got into the habit of singing about everything I did, telling myself off constantly and aiming some really foul language at my online email system. Things got dark, guys. So thank God for lunch pals. Working by yourself can by scary…I mean, I always used to do that stuff, just silently, in the confines of my own mind. That’s normal, right?

On a more serious note though, I am really missing my colleagues. It was great being able to share the stressful things and vent, to have a bit of giggle and a joke, and just have those lovely ladies around me every day.

Miss you guys ❤

PRO/CON: Efficiency

This one is both good and bad in every aspect. I can get up later than I used to, do some chores around the house and still be at my desk on time, now that I am at home. That is awesome. BUT. I can also work through lunch and carry on until about 9pm if left to my own devices and conversely, I can get very distracted with jobs around the house when I do stop for lunch. It’s all about control. Luckily, I’ve stopped my self from going overboard/underboard (if that’s a thing) but you really have to watch it.

PRO: Commuting

Oh gee. For a long time I was a cheeky sneaker who only had to walk ten minutes to get to work. Then everything went bibbledy and I suddenly had an hour commute that involved a train and 45 minutes of walking to get to work. Want to know a secret? That was hard. It was draining and miserable and more often than not very cold and very wet. I don’t miss it. Not one jot.

PRO: Gym motivation

Now hear me out on this one, I know it seems weird. When I used to work in the office, it would get to the end of the day and I would trudge all the way home and the last thing I wanted to do was head back out into the mire and do a workout. I managed to make myself go to ballet classes (sometimes) but that was still tricky. Now that I’m at home all day, I’m desperate to get out of the place come 5pm and do something physical. The result? I have been to the gym four times in eight days. I’m gonna get ripped.

So there you have it. That’s my two cents on working from home and yes, I know you didn’t ask but hey, it can still be entertaining, right? Answers on a postcard…

Leave a Reply

