Nesting

Isn’t it funny how it takes ages to get settled into a new home? I say ‘funny’ but I actually mean ‘infuriating’. While I’m not the tidiest of people, I do like everything to have its proper place, so that on the odd occasions when I do put everything away, there is somewhere for each of my possessions to go. Looking back, it took almost two years for that to happen in Bath, so I shouldn’t be bothered that it hasn’t happened in the month we’ve been back in MK (yeah, it’s been a month! How??)

But I am. I am bothered.

We’ve done well, I will admit, and most rooms are pretty much there, but I have learned that no matter what your intentions, a second bedroom will always be a dumping ground if there isn’t a person to occupy it. There isn’t an extra person in our home (and there won’t be one anytime soon) so for now, it is the place I shut the door on to forget about mess.

I have, however, managed to make the living room feel lived in. By which I mean, I have completely taken over parts of it. Hey, a girl needs her girly space, amiright?

First came the picture window.

WP_20150209_08_30_20_Pro

(It’s surprisingly hard to take a photo of a window…photo by me.)

This window is ever so slightly higher than the others in the flat and it’s quite a lot smaller. I don’t know if it’s technically called a picture window, but it makes the view out of it look like a framed picture, so that’s what I call it.

WP_20150303_09_30_18_Pro

(I love the different colours in glass. Photo by me.)

These bottles were saved from the wedding, almost two years ago now! Remember how we used them for centrepieces, with handmade flowers peeking out? Well, the flowers all found good homes with the wedding guests, but the bottles sat forlornly overlooked in my parents house. Until now! I filled them with sweetheart roses (£3.50 for a dozen – bargain!) and they look very lovely indeed.

WP_20150215_09_11_17_Pro

(See? Gorge. Photo by me.)

I also had to have a little nod to my obsession with all things French. When I was working in Bristol, I found this amazing French shop called Bonjour People in St James Arcade. It’s filled with authentic French food and drink, lovingly handmade accessories and crazy bits for the home like this:

WP_20150303_09_30_51_Pro

It is a cabane mouchette – a house for a little fly! The whole thing is made by hand and I just think it’s so whimsical and delightful. Alongside the wall sticker that reads “mon coin de ciel” (this is my part of the sky) the whole scene is complete.

But it’s not the only part of the room that’s been Lizzie-fied.

WP_20150303_09_26_24_Pro

(Work in progress. Photo by me.)

This is my gallery wall. It’s a collection of postcards and awesome things I’ve found on Pinterest. It’s all just stuck up with blu-tak, so I can move things around, change up the graphics and generally tweak it until I’m happy. It’s amazing how many free printables there are out there. Check out these, these and this!

All of that is lovely, right?

Thanks, so glad you think so.

But it’s not the best bit. My pride and joy is my bureau…

WP_20150303_10_03_08_Pro

(Ignore the mess around it, just look at the pretty! Photo by me.)

Over 200 hundred years old, this gorgeous antique was a gift from Steven two Christmases ago and I have finally been reunited with it. There was nowhere for it to go in the Bath flat, so my parents were looking after it. Let me just tell you, it works perfectly in the new flat and it means I get to work here:

WP_20150303_09_33_55_Pro

(Yes, I tidied it before the photo, what do you take me for? Photo by me.)

So it might be slow going, but we are nesting, bedding down in this lovely new home. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a second bedroom to conquer!

Leave a Reply

