Lulamae Barnes

I was going to share a post with you yesterday, but something got in the way. It was one of those days. Truman Capote put it best in Breakfast at Tiffany’s:

“You know those days when you’ve got the mean reds? …the mean reds are horrible. You’re afraid and you sweat like hell, but you don’t know what you’re afraid of. Except something bad is going to happen, only you don’t know what it is.”

Yesterday was a mean reds kind of day. Unlike Holly Golightly, I don’t have any particular place that I go to make me feel better. So, I just rode it out.

Today is better. And you know what else? Today is World Book Day.

I didn’t actually realise today was the day until I saw a post by blueeggsandtea on Instagram. You might find that odd for a book lover, but it’s just because, for me, every day is book day.

Anyway, I thought I’d have a bit of waffle about books, in honour of their Great Day, and fittingly enough, I’d like to specifically talk about Breakfast at Tiffany’s.

tiffany

Have you read this classic? If not, do it now. You will thank me for it later.

I’ve said before what a babe Truman Capote is. His way with words is delicious and his characters are so captivating. Throughout this novella I was simultaneously falling in love with/infuriated by/utterly obsessed with Holly Golightly. She’s the kind of character you hate to love, who gets on your nerves and yet makes your soul sing. And one of the amazing things is that we all know people like that in real life, too. Capote puts a magnifying glass on the truth of life and makes you feel it so intensely that you can’t help but sit up and think “Oh yeah, that’s like so-and-so”. Genius.

irving-penn-1979

(Photo by Irving Penn, 1979)

“You can’t give your heart to a wild thing.”

And yet that’s exactly what Capote makes you do.

Have you seen the film adaptation? Yeah I thought you might have. It’s good, but it’s nowhere near as good as the book. Audrey Hepburn is her usual gorgeous, wonderful self, but she makes Holly so whimsical, so innocent, in a way that’s just not apparent in the book. Capote’s Holly knows exactly what she’s doing to the people around her; she embodies the wild thing while Audrey only plays at it. And Mickey Rooney as Mr Yunioshi? Good lord, so racist…

If I could have my way on this World Book Day I would be curled up on the sofa with an endless stream of tea, a huge box of chocolates and this glorious piece of literature. I wouldn’t get up until I’d read the whole thing in one sitting, and my life would be enriched for the experience.

Needless to say, I can’t have my way (damn work!) but if any of you could do it for me, I would be so grateful.

Until next time you beauts.

“If you let yourself love a wild thing. You’ll end up looking at the sky.”

2 thoughts on “Lulamae Barnes

  1. Awesome thoughts! Thanks for sharing (love the voice behind your postings). If you’re ever in need of some other great book reviews and musings, be sure to follow! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

