#savetheculture

A few months ago a friend of mine shared a Facebook status that read as follows (don’t worry, this isn’t a massive invasion of her privacy, it was an international campaign and its entire purpose is to be shared):

We need at least 6 people to participate in a book exchange.
You can be anywhere in the world, the further we get, the better!
All you have to do is buy a book and send it to one person. You will receive approximately 36 books back.📚
If you are interested click “Like” and I’ll send you the details
‪#‎savetheculture‬

Seems pretty simple, right? I liked her post and she told me who to send a book to. Then I shared the same status and told anyone who “Liked” it to send a book to her and share the status as well. Anyone that liked their post sent a book to me and so on and so forth. Make sense? (I know it’s complicated but sit and think about it for a mo and it should make sense. If not hit me up and I’ll draw a diagram or something.)

At first glance I had a naive giggle to myself. As a notorious book nerd, I didn’t think of books as a culture that needed saving. Surely everyone has bookshelves bursting with novels? Doesn’t everyone adore getting books for Christmas and birthdays? Do books actually need saving? Surely not!

But it sounded pretty fun nonetheless. If there’s anything I love more than a good book, it’s a good book that’s completely new to me. A few years ago I had a wonderful book spa (which I’ve just realised, I never blogged about, check back for that!) and, among others, I was recommended Burial Rites by Hannah Kent. I had never heard of the book or the author but my god what a fantastic novel. It’s so unexpected and so fascinatingly written. But before I wax lyrical about that fabulous piece of literature (perhaps I need to review it in full) I will come back to my point: excellent book + I’ve never heard of it = winning.

Burial Rites is actually the book I decided to send to my book partner, precisely because it is relatively unknown but bloody brilliant. I will admit, a few months passed before I eventually got round to sending the book, but it is now in the hands of its new owner and hopefully being gratefully devoured.

But I haven’t received a single book.

Not one.

Perhaps it’s because none of the people who were involved (that I could see, at least) got the full six “Likes”, maybe it’s because life gets away from us and people forget, maybe those who did “Like” couldn’t really afford to buy a book and then pay for P&P to send it to someone. Or maybe the reading culture really does need saving? Perhaps it was innocent of me to think that people would send a book to a random stranger out of the goodness of their literary hearts.

I will never know. But no matter what, the way I see it, I’ve introduced a fellow book worm to a fantastic read. And even if they never actually crack open that book, at least I gave Hannah Kent a few more quid in royalties. That’s something, right?

So even if we aren’t sending books to one another, I live on in hope that people still settle in for a good read every now and then. Don’t you?

7 thoughts on “#savetheculture

  1. Absolutely – nothing better than curling up with a good book. Do you know about the Icelandic tradition of giving a new book as a Christmas Eve gift? We did this last Christmas and cracking open a new book was such a lovely way to spend the evening.

    I’m sorry that no-one sent you a book. I love Burial Rites too. Have you read ‘Wolf Winter’ by Cecilia Ekbäck?

    • Ooh I haven’t read that, but I’m going to hunt it down now – thanks!
      What a lovely tradition – I hadn’t heard of it before but I think that might be one I start in my household, it sounds idyllic!

  2. Sent my first book #savetheculture (“angle of repose” by Wallace Stegner). I have 4 people and just posted last night; girl who I ‘liked’ has more than 6. Crossing fingers I discover at least one new book (in addition to “Burial Rites” and “Wolf Winter”)!
    (My back-up book was “A Reliable Wife”…or “Gap Creek”…or… 🙂

  3. Pingback: My kinda spa day | Thoroughly Modern Lizzie

  4. I just joined the chain today and have already sent a book to my ‘candidate’. It works if people don’t break the chain. So I’m trying to get more people involved so everyone gets at least 1 book.

Leave a Reply

